Sierra Electric Cooperative is a consumer-member owned, not for profit electric cooperative serving most of Sierra County and parts of Catron, Luna and Socorro counties in New Mexico.

The Co-op History

Sierra Electric was established in 1941 in Sierra County, New Mexico as part of a nationwide movement to bring electricity to rural communities that private, investor-owned electric companies did not deem profitable to serve.


Trustees are consumer-members elected by the members to govern the cooperative and establish the strategic direction of the cooperative. 

Annual Meeting of the Members

The Annual Meeting of the Members is held each year for the purpose of electing trustees, hearing and passing reports covering the previous fiscal year, and transacting other business that properly comes before the meeting.

Our Mission:  Sierra Electric Cooperative is dedicated to providing high quality, reliable electric service and related products to our members at competitive prices.  Our members deserve and shall receive quality service unparalleled in our industry.  We are committed to maintaining an environment where the Board of Trustees and Employees can perform at their maximum potential to benefit our community.

co-op principles

Affiliated Organizations

Sierra Electric Cooperative, Inc. is a member of many other cooperatives that provide additional benefits and resources for us and our members.